April 2014

Volume 26, Issue 8

McDonald Elementary School

Scagull Gazette

Miriam R. S. Daniels Principal

C. Melissa Miller

Assistant Principal

PHONE:

(843) 527-3485

FAX:

(843) 546-8674

WEBSITE/ E-MAIL:

Our Mission

McDonald Elementary School will provide every student with a multi-faceted curriculum challenging students to reach their maximum potential and be productive in a global society.

PTO Officers 2013-14

President: Daphne Smith Vice President: Dodie Gray Secretary: Teresa Cobb Treasurer: Sabrina Billings

Georgetown County School Board Members

Mr. Elery Little Mr. Benny Elliott Ms. Sandra Johnson Mr. James Dumm Ms. Sarah Elliott Mr. Richard Kerr Dr. Arthur Lance Ms. Zelma Carr Ms. Pat DeLeone

From the Principals' Office . . .

We are all excited about the arrival of our spring break. We are looking forward to our Science Fair on April 16. All of the exhibits are so well planned and show the scientific talent of all the students and teachers who participate. We look forward

to seeing all our families at the PTO/Science Fair night. We encourage our students each day to concentrate on their work so they will be well prepared for PASS testing in May. Have a great Spring Break!

We are so Proud of our Teacher of the Year; Carla **Brandon and Support Staff** of the Year; Dawn Elliott for being chosen for the top 5 finalist for the district!

What's happening at our school?

We celebrated the Book Winner – Eric Litwin's Pete the Cat Rocking in My School Shoes on April 8. Mrs. Adams and Mrs. Goins presented many lucky winners with autographed FREE Pete the Cate Books! What a FUN day!

April





Characters of the Month -

March Judgment - To have the ability to make a sound decision or to form an opinion.



Zacarius Brown Jennifer Hernondez Adam Moore Amari Giles Liam Chatman Jeremiah Dawson **Austin Nesbit** Morgan Garrison **Anthony Heideman** DaeVeon Greene Callie Small Ashanti McCray Cash Johnson Alyssa Britt Janeth Aguilar **Dawson Goins Kadance Crawford** Rvan Holt Cole Howard Camille Hempel Ce'Nai Holmes **Enosh Brown** Christopher Brown George Allen Long Kahziah Gardner Eva Gray

School Calendar

Plan Ahead

	Abiii	
ı	15	PTO/Science Fair
ı	16	Science Fair
ı	18	No School
ı	23	Admin. Professional Day
ı	21-25	Spring Break- No school
ı	28	Superintendent's Honor Roll
ı		Awards Celebration
ı	May	
ı	1	Domino's Night
ı	6-9	PASS testing
ı	5-9	Teacher Appreciation Week
ı		National School Nurse Week
ı		School Nutrition Employee Wk.
ı		Bus Driver Appreciation Wk.
ı		Teacher Appreciation Week
ı	22	CB Dodson Awards
ı	23	Technology Fair
ı	26	Memorial Day Holiday- No
ı		School





Academic Team Winners - Way to Go!

Spontaneous Problem Solving

— Audra Nesbitt,

Morgan Garrison,

Selasse Robinson

Stem Creations – Trace

Shannon, Stormy Blythe

Word Works – Logan

Lockliear, Evyn Canova, Kaylyn

Johnson and Vanessa Powell

Net Research – Tabitha

Anderson and Shana Browne

Map Reading – Zaria Blain and

Sierra Blythe

Mathastic – Destini Simon and

Trace Shannon



Bailee Blocher WON 1st place at the Superintendent's Art Show! Congratulations, to her and all of the students who participated.



Congratulations to Our Students of the Week

March 31 - April 4 Justin Alarcon Ronald Smith Liam Chatman Chadi Floyd Jaedyn Gibson Madelyn Wilson Jordan Thompson Jennifer Hernandez Kason Wright Javier Hernandez Danasia Morris **Zyair Smalls** Kashiya Snow Kahziah Gardner Aaron Keller Morgan Garrison Jadd Lewis Lanasia Brown Jackson Sanderson Ta'Ziya Thornton Charlie Edwards **Shantal Cevantes Ahston Sumpter** Madison Powell Breanna Dennison Cash Johnson

April 7-11 Austin Nesbit Elane Bone **Aunesty Thomas** McCray Jayden Tisdale Janasia Duncan K'ary Henry **Kyleigh Crawford** Kason Wright Lazaria Greene **Brett Russell Bremere Sumpter** Ari Linen Hannah Gamble **Kush Mont** Naomi Reed Selasse Robinson Kayden Johnson **Blake Howard Amari Giles** Sierra Self **Brivith Cervantes** Ariyah Cobb **Hunter Gray Aalivah Jones Gracie Childress**

April 14 -17 Armani Holmes Camile Hempel **Timber Wilder** Willie Wood, IV Demetria Brunson Ziare Barrentine **Trinity Shackleford Jackson Hodges** Vanessa Powell Ny'Jiah Simmons Avanna Steele Matthew Johnson Destini Simon Kylisa Sargent Nashya Ward Tatyana Gibbs Skylar Blake Alison Barrientos **Yizel Santos** Wendy Angeles Reves Kamaury Green Alisha Adams Jordan Briggs **Devontae Barron** Yasmik Neville **Dominic Graham**

World's Finest Chocolate Top 10 Winners - Received the Red Carpet Treatment, with a Limo Ride to Pizza Hut!







Authors of the Month- March



Thank You! We raised \$4000 for March of Dimes!

